Vulnerability

I was browsing the internet (as you do) and came upon a fascinating (in my opinion) Ted Talk by Brené Brown about “the power of vulnerability”. Think of it what you will, but I liked what she had to say.

The stories I write often deal with the kind of psychology Brown talks about- the vulnerability that we as human beings face and struggle with. A lot of people in the fandom write stories that include that in some sense. Compassion, empathy, closeness, healing, recovery, the idea of being broken. How characters deal with their pasts and overcome their present. So I wanted to share it, because as both a writer and a person it means something to me.

The video is about 20 minutes long, but the transcript of the talk can be read here.

cw: very brief mention of mental health, illness, drug usage/abuse, self-esteem issues

Leave a comment