Midwest in the Summertime

and the living is booooooring. Sorta. Most people say that about the Midwest, but most people say that about where they live/grew up, anyway.

Lots of pictures today, of open skies, neighborhoods, trees, powerlines, flowers, and a butterfly!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Went on an adventure a few days ago, to one of the local parks. I think I’ve maybe been there once? But only in the winter, because they offer tube sledding when it’s snowy. There’s a disc golf course, though, which I didn’t know. Some pretty nice trails.

I probably looked like a weirdo tramping around by myself through the woods, dressed in jeans and all black. When it’s 84 degrees F with 40-something% humidity. Ah well. Adventure!

One of the highest points in the city below:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Aforementioned disc golf, and a robin below. I’ve only played disc golf once, and it was on a faux camping trip in 5th grade. The entire 5th/6th grade classes at my elementary school all went to a summer camp for a weekend. While we were playing disc golf, this guy I had a crush on threw his frisbee into the ditch, so me, being the stupid chivalrous person I am, tried to go get it for him. Because I’m a nice, helpful person. And somewhat of a masochist.

I tried to carefully get down the side of the steep ditch, which went pretty well, but I couldn’t get any farther than halfway and ended up scraping my leg up on a briar bush in the process. It wasn’t too bad- I wasn’t fazed, and hardly frickin noticed- but naturally all the adults are like “holy crap you should go see the nurse”. So what if my leg looked like it got attacked by angry kittens? It’s fiiiiiine.

After seeing the nurse so she could put some antibacterial stuff on my scrapes so it wouldn’t get infected, I went back outside to where everyone had finished the disc golf course. I wore my battle wounds proudly, pointing them out when my classmates asked where I went when I disappeared from disc golf.
“Oh, I scraped my leg up.” *points with a grin*
*concerned look* “holy crap…”
“no, it’s fine. I’m totally fine.” *smiling*
*weird look*

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Weird twisty vine covered trees. They kinda look like snakes. Could be, honestly. Snakes aren’t uncommon here.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Butterfly! look it’s so cool!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Out of the woods again, finally. This park is probably one of the biggest open green areas in the city, that isn’t a golf course.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Downed tree. Lots of these in the area.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Pine trees. I could say something about Botany and seed dispersal but fuck Botany.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Leave a Reply

