Help, I’ve Fallen Into Hamilton And I Can’t Get Up

Okay.
Okay.
I never thought I’d say this, but I’m having feelings about a hip-hop musical about Alexander Hamilton.

I just listened to the soundtrack to Hamilton the musical, and it surprises me that I liked it. Hip hop isn’t really my style. But the musical’s about a young upstart, who started out unlucky but smart, who rose up. Alexander Hamilton’s character reminds me of an early belief in myself I have. I relate to his optimism, his drive, and “there’s a million things I haven’t done but just you wait”.

And I also relate to Burr’s waiting. The way he contrasts/compares to Hamilton. He holds himself back and has this idea that he should “talk less, smile more”.

In my eyes, neither man is right or wrong. But what a dynamic! How fascinating, that these characters have such interaction…

And there’s so many lyrics about life and death, and choices; getting wrapped up in chasing goals and success, pride and envy, the push-pull between business and family; the consequences of ones actions. And in the end, wondering what it was all for, “have I done enough” and “could I have done more”.
The story is a rise and a fall, and fantastically done.
Characters are flawed but relatable.

I didn’t think it’d be my thing but it’s beautifully written.

Hamilton and Burr’s rapport is great. I also like Commander George Washington.

King George the III is my fave. Singing about blood and murder like Michael Bublé since 1776. It’s great.

My favorite songs are (in no particular order):

My Shot
Alexander Hamilton as “young, scrappy, and hungry”

Right Hand Man
“dying is easy, living is harder”

Wait For It
“Love doesn’t discriminate between the sinners and the saints, it takes and it takes and it takes, and we keep loving anyway, we laugh and we cry and we break and we make our mistakes.” and the entire song, really.

Meet Me Inside
“I’m not your son.”

History Has Its Eyes On You
“you have no control- who lives, who dies, who tells your story”

Non-Stop
“how do you write like you’re running out of time”

Take A Break
in which Alexander relates himself to Macbeth and insults John Adams

The Room Where It Happens
“I swear your pride will be the death of us all”

Leave a Reply

