AU Questions

I was looking for AU-stylized questions to make blog posts about, but because I couldn’t find questions I wanted, I made some of my own.

When I was looking for questions, I found a fic masterpost tumblr blog for the Everlark (Katniss/Peeta) ship in The Hunger Games fandom. Not my fandom, and the pairing isn’t my thing, and a lot of the fic recs weren’t something I’d be interested in reading- but all the authors seemed interesting and diverse.

On the tumblr blog, they had a list of author interviews, which I think are so, so cool. Paragraph-long answers to questions, for so many authors and fics! Interviews! Many can be found on a HG fandom blogspot for reviews and fic recs.

It makes me wish the fandom I wrote in was bigger and more active, or that I was actually a tumblr person, because then people could collab on more things like this. Stuff like this is so interesting to me. If anyone wanted to “interview” me talking about my fics, I’d be thrilled. (I’m always thrilled when people talk about fics in general). Though I don’t have any that are novel length stories like the people in the HG fandom do. I just have two 30,000+ word-ers at the moment.

But anyway, because I couldn’t find questions I wanted, I made some. A few are inspired by the aforementioned blogs/interviews (“Do you ever include easter eggs or inside jokes in your stories?” is directly from one, but the rest are my own words). None of the questions are AU or fandom specific, to my knowledge. It doesn’t have to be an AU you’ve written for.

I know not everyone’s a writer, so there’s a reader version too. Some questions could be removed or edited out because they don’t exactly fit an “AU questionnaire” thing (like my self indulgent symbolism question, for example). You don’t necessarily have to answer them all. Feel free to use/answer on other blogs or whatever, just link the post to me and vice versa.



Writer AU Questions:

1.If you had to summarize this AU in a few words/short sentence, what would it be?
2. What made you start thinking about/headcanoning/creating in this AU?
3. What do you think is the greatest challenge writing in this AU?
4. What do you think is the easiest part about writing in this AU?
5. What’s your favorite thing about this AU?
6. Favorite character in this AU?
7. Do you ever include easter eggs or inside jokes in your stories?
8. Favorite usage of symbolism?
9. What do you expect to be well-liked in this AU? What do you expect to be disliked?
10. What do you draw inspiration from when creating for this AU?
11. What would you love to see written by someone else in the AU, that you wouldn’t write yourself?
12. What do you want for this AU in the future?

Reader AU Questions:

1. If you had to summarize this AU in a few words/short sentence, what would it be?
2. What made you start reading/thinking about/headcanoning/creating in this AU?
3. What do you think is the greatest setback for people who want to get involved in this AU? What keeps them from getting involved?
4. What do you think is the most accessible thing for people who want to get involved in this AU? What encourages people to get involved?
5. What’s your favorite thing about this AU?
6. Favorite character in this AU?
7. Do you ever find easter eggs or inside jokes in other author’s works/are there any common jokes used in the AU?
8. What do you like about this AU? What do you dislike about this AU?
9. What kind of things from the real world or real life or other fandoms/AUs would you want authors to incorporate?
10. What do you want for this AU in the future?

[examples of both of these here and here for the writer ones (using a fandom sandbox AU and a personal AU spinoff that currently has no content created for it), and here for some of the reader ones]

3 thoughts on “AU Questions

  1. Pingback: Writer AU Questions: wispverse | ghostofgatsby

  2. Pingback: Reader AU Questions: UMY | ghostofgatsby

  3. Pingback: Writer AU Questions: UMY | ghostofgatsby

Leave a Reply

