What I Think Of When I Think Of Camping

I’ve never actually been camping…but I’ve heard/read plenty of camping stories. One of the places I thought of when writing constant as the northern star is a park with giant drainage pipes.
Smith mentions that it used to be a battlefield, and that’s what I had heard when I was a kid. It’s actually just a graveyard, with twenty or so graves dating back to the 1800s. Unfortunately, I couldn’t find those, due to terrible trails, in this ankle-twisting murder woods. So many downed trees, I could hardly walk. I even braved the possibility of walking through spider webs for you.

So here’s some pictures of that.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

There’s a little creek that goes through the park. It’s pretty gross looking, because there’s an underpass and construction nearby, and you get a lot of runoff from businesses.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I thought there used to be a drainage pipe across the creek here, but they must have removed that one when they built the underpass.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Lots of downed trees in the area.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Graffiti on a tree. Sort of wish it said E + C, because then that would fit Sips’ backstory pretty well.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There’s that other drainage pipe. I swear they used to be larger…but when you’re a kid everything seems bigger, because you’re not as tall.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Half the trails looked like this, with broken rubble blocking the path.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I couldn’t get much closer than this to the far end of the creek.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The rest of the trails look like this. Ankle-breaking.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

At least there were a few pretty things to look at.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And then some mushrooms. Tah dah.

Leave a Reply

