Writer’s Block

Having hit a wall that I’ve been seeing on the horizon, this vlogbrothers’ video was fitting.


“Writing had always been a safe and sane way for me to pour out my obsessiveness and recursive thinking, but then suddenly it just didn’t provide that release anymore. And I realized, you know, that I- I could stop. Writing had become kind of miserable, and as I devoted more of my time [elsewhere], I realized I have amazing work that I am so lucky to do.
“I missed writing, but in the way you missed someone you used to love.”

“Still, though, this is all kinda hard to talk about, because the usual arc of these narratives is ‘I had some failure, but then I plowed through, and found greater success than ever!’ And I’m not at all sure that’s how this story will end.”

Leave a Reply

