Vaguely Wizard-of-Oz-Framed Theater-Actor AU

Random ideas/headcanons that won’t get fics anytime soon. If anyone wants to add on/chime in/create something, feel free.

Inspired by this Lin-Manuel Miranda tweet:

“Good morning.
Brains.
Heart.
Courage.
Dope shoes.
You’re ready, Dorothy. Let’s go.”

cw: theatre shenanigans, crappy first meetings, assholes, arguing/yelling/fighting, acting out drinking issues, relationship problems, gendered slurs?, car accident (no injuries), brief mention of familial death/homophobia in a play
If I need to tag something, let me know.



Actor? Smith, wearing Nikes
Meeting
The careless slacker Sips
The (ruthless) director Ross
The unsure stage cohost Trott (“this isn’t going to work”)

Starts off with Smith smashing his car into Ross’
Streaking color onto his gray Aston Martin
“Watch where you’re fucking going, asshole!”
“Oh fuck! Oh fuck, I’m so sorry- I didn’t mean to, I just didn’t- shit-”
“Do you know how much this’ll cost me to fix? This is a fucking leased vehicle!”
“Fuck fuck fuck I’m so sorry-” stammering. Wringing his hands through his hair. “I was on my way to a reading to be cast in this- this small theatre production, and I just- fuck. Shit. I’m so, so sorry…”
“Look. Just- give me your fucking number, and insurance info, and I’ll sort it out.”
“O-okay. Right. Right. sorry…” fishes wallet out of pocket
“Rude.”

Smith goes to the meeting, reads for the part. Sips is the stage/casting manager.
“You’re not the greatest…but we can work with that. I definitely think we can work with that. Are you available after this?”
“I? Yes? I’m free.”
“Meet us at the theatre, read thru with Trott”

Turps, the wizard of show biz, tells Smith he can get a deal in something better, but only if he impresses the critics, the wicked bitch of broadway, brindley
(Brindley loves him. “It. Whatever. It’s good!”)

Small play, written and directed by Ross
“Relationship problems when a gay son moves back into his childhood home with his long-term boyfriend after the passing of his father.”
“Familial relationships, what building a family means, struggle and coping. Drinking problems. Arguing.”

Smith pleads with Trott, too, not just the character he’s portraying
“Look, have faith in me. Alright?”
Puts anger and emotion into it.
Bottle smashes off stage.
“What the fuck were you planning before we got here?” Trott asks in character.
Smith stares at him for a long moment. “I was going to ask you to marry me.”
“Brilliant,” Sips whispers as Smith exits the stage before him, “Fucking brilliant, Smith.”

Ross kisses him before he goes onstage. “Good luck.”

Leave a Reply

